Alfonso Cuaron makes Oscar history as a Mexican filmmaker

Mexican cinematographer received seven Oscars

Mexican cinematographer received seven Oscars

  • Mexican cinematographer Emmanuel Lubezki also won an Oscar
  • Mexican-Angolan actress Lupita Nyong’o, Best Supporting Actress

MEXICO CITY (Mexico Tribune).- Alfonso Cuaron was already surprised by the time he and his film Gravity had been awarded four Oscars and there were no words to express his pride and happiness when he finally received a total of seven of the golden statues.

The 52 year old Mexican filmmaker made history by becoming the first Latin American to receive an Oscar in the 86 year of the existence of the prize for Best Director.

But his film also won Best Edition, Best Musical Arrangement, Best Sound, Best Sound Edition, Best Special Effects, Best Photograpy and Best Edition.

Cuaron said he was happy and very proud of his historic achievement and was glad to have seen in Twitter a message that read “Viva Mexico cuarones!”

“I am proud of this message. I think like a Mexican and with my common sense. Mi work doesn´t actually represent the Mexican culture, but I am part of it,” he said.

“But I have always said that if my work does represent a difference in the movie industry in Mexico, I want to hear about it”, he added.

When asked about being the first Mexican movie director to win an Oscar he replied: “I am Mexican and I only hope that enough attention is given to all the expressions of culture that are happening right now in my country.”

“I truly appreciate and I am grateful with all this support I have been receiving from Mexico, but I really truly wish the same support is given to other movies that are being produced in Mexico by Mexican cinematographers and with local subjects,” said Cuaron.

Cuaron explained that his movie “Gravity” began as an inspiration of his son Jonas, who participated in the production.

At the same time, another Mexican film director, Emmanuel Lubezki, who also made history by receiving an Oscar for Best Cinematography, said that Cuaron was his teacher.

“I’m Mexican and I love my country. My family lives in Mexico, which I miss very much, I miss filming and working there,” said Lubezki, who also said received six other Oscar nominations.

Lubezki concluded by dedicating his Oscar to the Mexicans who went to see “Gravity” and to Friends and family.

But Lubezki and Cuaron weren´t the only Mexicans to win Oscars and make their country proud, Lupita Nyong’o was awarded the prized to Best Supporting Actress for her outstanding and riveting performance “12 Years a Slave.”

IIn all, it was a great night, a historic one for Mexican film personalities. A nigh to remember and that will forever be in the history of Hollywood and Mexico.

Sandra Bullock

American actress Sandra Bullock said that thanks to “Gravity” she was less of a problema than she was before. She was nominated Best Actress for her role in the movie.

“Working with ‘Gravity’ changed me as a person. Simply, I am not the same person I was going in than I was going out after filming, especially because my mother was with Alfonso and we tried to figure out many things,” she said.

In the film, Sandra Bullock interprets “Ryan Stone”, a brilliant medical engineer that goes to space for the first time.

Most watched Oscars in 10 years

Famous TV presenter Ellen DeGeneris hosted the 86 Oscar Awards that had the best rating in 10 years, according to organizers of the event.

Over 43 million people watched the ceremony, which was, however, much less than the 55 million viewers the Oscars had in 1998, mainly thanks to the “Titanic”.

For DeGeneres this ceremony was her personal best since 2007 when she had 40.2 million viewers.

The Oscar Winners

Best Movie

“12 Years a Slave”

Best Actor

Matthew McConaughey / “Dallas Buyers Club”

Best Supporting Actor

Jared Leto / “Dallas Buyers Club”

Best Actress

Cate Blanchett / “Blue Jasmine”

Best Supporting Actress

Lupita Nyong’o / “12 Years a Slave”

Best Animated Film

“Frozen”

Best Cinematography

“Gravity” / Emmanuel Lubezki

Costume Design

“The Great Gatsby” / Catherine Martin

Director

“Gravity” / Alfonso Cuarón

Documentary

“20 Feet from Stardom”

Short Documentary

“The Lady in Number 6: Music Saved My Life”

Edition

“Gravity”

Foreign Film

“The Great Beauty” / Italia

Best Make-up and Hair Dressing

“Dallas Buyers Club”

Original Sound Track

“Gravity”

Best Original Song

“Let It Go” / “Frozen”

Best Production Design

“The Great Gatsby”

Best Animated Short Film

“Mr. Hublot” Laurent Witz y Alexandre Espigares

Best Live Short Film

“Helium” / Anders Walter y Kim Magnusson

Best Sound Edition

“Gravity” / Glenn Freemantle

Best Sound Mix

“Gravity”

Best Visual Effects

“Gravity”

Best Script Adaptation

“12 Years a Slave”

Best Original Script

“Her”

MexTrib/oab

Leave a comment